Submarine cameras favori envoyer
by Gérard Loridon


Mr Loridon came into contact with me about one of his old cameras: the Eljy, whose small overall dimensions were particularly interesting at the time of the practice of scouting, in the Fifties. From sewing thread to needle, I discovered a very interesting and very kind Gentleman. He agrees today to make us share his interest for the history of the diving and more particularly for that of underwater photography. And on the matter, Mr Loridon knows what it speaks. Because if today, to nearly 70 springs, Mr Loridon moved away physically (but certainly not emotionally from the sea and of the diving, whole of its professional career was done at the bank (and especially under) of water, that it river water or sea water.

Mr. Loridon is a former skin diver and deep-sea diver. He was the founder of the museum/art gallery of Frederic Dumas (Tour Romane 83110 Sanary s/mer. Free entry the weekend and during school vacations).
He is from now on Honorary Vice-Président. He relate the adventure of the on his website http://monsite.wanadoo.fr/scaphandrierlivre/

Mr. Loridon presents to us the photographs of some cameras used to practice the underwater photography and an article on the ancestor of the underwater camera. These cameras are visible at the museum Frederic Dumas, unless otherwise specified.



Tarzan

The FObeuchat is the first camera designed by my friend Georges Beuchat in 1947, inside, one put the FOCA.
It had chosen like brand TARZAN, because in the post-war period, all that was American was a gift of heaven… that changed well since. Also, it had thereafter problems with the MGM, producer of the films “Tarzan the ape-man” of which kid, we were fond of !


Focascaph

The FOCA+Scaph, still from Georges Beuchat, came after and is clearly improved. It has an Ivanoff port-hole, to correct the 1/3 additional underwater



Foca Standard (1953-1962). Coll. privée

Stevens

The Stevens, of the name of his designer, a famous underwater photographer,  it is a plastic bag in which was fixed a camera, of any brand/mark, One operated the controls with the glove included.

The Royflex was to go in the Rolleimarin case of Hans HASS

Kodak
Case for movie camera Kodak M8 (1962). Private coll.

Calypsophot. Coll. privée.



BoutanThe “Detective” was certainly the first or one of the first camera of underwater photographs…

It is in the book “100 years of underwater photography” of Steven WEINBERG, Philippe Louis Joseph MASTIFF, John NEUSCHWANDER published in at Alain SCHROTTER Editions that one can note in the Chapter 2  “The pioneers”, the work of Louis BOUTAN and Joseph DAVID, at the end of the 19th century. If Louis Boutan is a well-known scientist, his collaborator Joseph David is not less one outstanding mechanic, resulting from the National Marine.

This collaboration will be profitable and will give to the underwater people its first clichés of quality

It would be too long to make known here the troubles and successes of this dynamic research team and it is for that to better refer to the book, very complete, described above.

About the “Detective” perfectly described and visible on the site of Mr. Sylvain Halgand, let us note simply that is in 1892 that Louis Boutan used this camera in a waterproof caisson to obtain underwater pictures.
It makes make the blueprints of this box by his brother Auguste, engineer.
The building is carried out by the Alvergniat firm of Paris.

Its use will not be easy nor without misadventures for a caisson including several controls at one time or the thoric joint was still in the limbs.
But as Louis Boutan quotes it, his colleague David will cure all these problems.

Louis Boutan will make clichés of a great quality for the time with, nevertheless exposure times from 10 to 30 minutes, to  a 11 meters depth in Banyuls ( Pyrenees Orientales).
The Aqualung not existing, it used a heavy diving-suit, with helmet. For which knows this kind of equipment, that was not to facilitate the task of this voluntary scientist, but little trained with this discipline.
Thereafter these two pioneers made progress on the matter and invented also an underwater flash.

An exhibition “Blue Art” organized last year by the Museum of the Diving, dedicated to Frederic DUMAS, made us discover the material of Louis Boutan and Joseph David under the form of an excellent copy realized by Steven WEINBERG. This unit is still visible at the Museum.

Mr Weinberg did not can be contacted to ask for the authorization to him of diffuse the photograph above. If it wishes a withdrawal that it tells us of it, we will withdraw this photograph as soon as possible

Les appareils de photographie sous-marine favori envoyer
Par Gérard Loridon


Monsieur Loridon est entré en contact avec moi au sujet d'un de ses anciens appareils photo : le Eljy, dont l'encombrement réduit était particulièrement intéressant lors de la pratique du scoutisme, dans les années 50. De fil en aiguille, j'ai découvert un Monsieur très intéressant et très gentil. Il accepte aujourd'hui de nous faire partager son intéret pour l'histoire de la plongée et plus particulièrement pour celle de la photographie sous-marine. Et en la matière, Monsieur Loridon sait de quoi il parle. Car si aujourd'hui, à près de 70 printemps, Monsieur Loridon s'est éloigné physiquement (mais certainement pas affectivement) de la mer et de la plongée, toute sa carrière professionnelle s'est faite au bord (et surtout dessous) de l'eau, qu'elle soit douce ou salée.

M. Loridon est ancien plongeur sous-marin et scaphandrier. Il fut le fondateur du musée de Frédéric Dumas ( Tour Romane 83110 Sanary s/mer. Entrée libre les week-end et durant les vacances scolaires).
Il en est désormais Vice-Président Honoraire.

M. Loridon nous présente les photos de quelques appareils photo utilisés pour pratiquer la photo sous-marine et un article sur l'ancètre de l'appareil sub-aquatique. Ces appareils sont visibles au musée Frédéric Dumas, sauf indication contraire.


Tarzan
Le FObeuchat est le premier boîtier mis au point par mon ami Georges Beuchat en 1947, dedans, on y mettait le FOCA.
Il avait choisi comme marque TARZAN, car dans l'après-guerre, tout ce qui était américain était un don du ciel...cela a bien changé depuis. Aussi, il eut par la suite des problèmes avec la MGM, producteur des films "Tarzan l'homme singe" dont gamin, nous étions friands !

Focascaph
Le FOCA+Scaph, toujours de Georges Beuchat, est venu ensuite et est nettement amélioré. Il possède un hublot Ivanoff, pour corriger le 1/3 supplémentaire s/m


Foca Standard (1953-1962). Coll. privée

Stevens
Le Stevens du nom de son auteur, un célèbre photographe s/m, c'est une poche en plastique dans laquelle était fixé un appareil photo, de n'importe quelle marque, On agissait sur les commandes avec le gant inclus..


Le Royflex devait aller dans le boîtier Rolleimarin de Hans HASS

Kodak
Boîtier pour camera Kodak M8 (1962). Coll. privée


Calypsophot. Coll. privée.

Le " Détective " fut certainement le premier ou l'un des premiers appareils de photographies sous-marines...
Boutan
C'est dans le livre " 100 ans de photographie sous-marine" de Steven WEINBERG, Philippe Louis Joseph DOGUE, John NEUSCHWANDER paru en chez Alain SCHROTTER Editions que l'on peut relever au Chapitre 2 "Les Pionniers", l'œuvre de Louis BOUTAN et Joseph DAVID, à la fin du 19ème siècle. Si Louis Boutan est un scientifique reconnu, son collaborateur Joseph David n'en est pas moins un mécanicien, hors pair, issu de la Marine Nationale.

Cette collaboration va être fructueuse et va donner au monde sous-marin ses premiers clichés de qualité

Il serait trop long de faire connaître ici les déboires et succès de cette équipe de chercheurs dynamiques et il vaut mieux pour cela se reporter à l'ouvrage, très complet, décrit plus haut.


Au sujet des " Détective " parfaitement décrits et visibles sur le site de Mr Sylvain Halgand, relevons simplement que c'est en 1892 que Louis Boutan utilisa cet appareil dans un caisson étanche pour obtenir des images subaquatiques.
Il fait faire les plans de ce boîtier par son frère Auguste, ingénieur.
La construction est exécutée par la firme Alvergniat de Paris.

Son utilisation ne sera pas facile ni sans avatars pour un caisson comprenant plusieurs commandes à une époque ou le joint thorique était encore dans les limbes.
Mais comme le cite Louis Boutan, son collègue David remédiera à tous ces problèmes.

Louis Boutan effectuera des vues d'une grande qualité pour l'époque avec, néanmoins des temps de pose de 10 à 30 minutes, a une profondeur de 11 mètres à Banyuls ( Pyrénées Orientales).
Le Scaphandre autonome n'existant pas, il utilisait un scaphandre lourd, à casque. Pour qui connaît ce type d'équipement, cela ne devait pas faciliter la tâche de ce scientifique volontaire, mais peu formé à cette discipline.
Par la suite ces deux pionniers firent des progrès en la matière et inventèrent aussi un flash sous-marin.

Une Exposition " Art Bleu " organisée l'an dernier par le Musée de la Plongée, dédié à Frédéric DUMAS, nous fit découvrir le matériel de Louis Boutan et Joseph David sous la forme d'une excellente copie réalisée par Steven WEINBERG. Cet ensemble est toujours visible au Musée.


Monsieur Weinberg n'a pu être joint pour lui demander l'autorisation de diffuser la photographie ci-dessus. S'il désire un retrait qu'il nous en fasse part, nous retirerons cette photographie dans les plus brefs délais.